Les’ Go Start Wars! (Lego Star Wars)

So yesterday, TT Games announced Lego Star Wars: The Force Awakens, and frankly I am ecstatic… if a little apprehensive.

Let’s rewind a little.  The year is 2005. It’s my birthday. I’m ten goddamn years old. I’ve seen the Star Wars movies but have retained very little information about them. Enter Lego Star Wars: The Videogame. It does the impossible: it makes the prequels an enjoyable experience. As a hardcore Ratchet and Clank fan, this game feels familiar to me, and with a ton of content. Picking up studs like there’s no tomorrow. Jumping into free play and Darth Mauling it up in Episode III.

What I spent the most amount of time doing, however, was running around Dexter’s Diner and warping between characters, inciting battles and pitting enemy against enemy. Whilst it was typically an excercise in boredom, I probably did spend countless hours in the game’s hub world, destroying droids and watching their Lego pieces crumble to the floor with satisfaction. Lego Star Wars II: The Original Saga used the Mos Eisely Cantina for its hub, but it was never as good as Dexter’s Diner. In fact, the entire second game was somewhat lost on me, as I always preferred the first, though from what I can gather this is not the popular opinion.

But soon any and all conflicts regarding the better of the two games was solved as they were combined into a better game that launched on the (then) newer consoles, as well as PC. The PC version is the one I play to this day, and the only thing it’s really missing is achievements. As an avid collector of achievements, I’m still somewhat sore that this game misses them, as I’d surely go for 100% completion. Sure, there are other Lego games, and I do own them, but they’ve never really grabbed me like Lego Star Wars did.

Anyway, back to the present. (Or should I say a long time ago? Eh? Ehh?) I’m thrilled (though not surprised) at the eventual existence of Lego Star Wars: The Force Awakens. What perplexes me, though, is that it’s coming out so soon after the movie’s release. Whilst it may be possible that TT Games worked alongside Lucasfilm or Disney to secure work on the game prior to the movie’s release, I could find no hint of such early access in their announcement. This means that, assuming we’re going from the fact that they’ve been working on the game since December, it should be finished and ready to go in… seven months? I don’t mean to be doubtful, as Ratchet and Clank games were made within a year of each other back in the PS2 era. I just hope this isn’t going to be rushed.

The other interesting thing about this is that they’re doing this per movie, instead of waiting for the trilogy to be over. I worry that there’s enough content in Episode VII to make a full Lego game. Or perhaps they’re using this one as a base, and will add the next two episodes as DLC? Which would make things awkward considering that the base game is named “Episode VII”. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

