Mobile Gaming

A few years ago, being short of a PC or current gen consoles, I was heavily into mobile gaming. I used to download a variety of games onto my iPod Touch and play them throughout the day, going as far as to use other apps to find out about more games via reviews and notifications about price drops and such. I used to bristle when people complained about the state of mobile gaming, for I was still very much into my Fruit Ninja and Jetpack Joyride and Tiny Tower and, well, you get the point.

The other day I attempted to make a return to mobile gaming, and I don’t know whether it’s due to my raised expectations from PC / console gaming or what, but I found the state of the scene terrible. The free-to-play but pay-for-fun model that’s slowly been infecting gaming lately originated from mobile gaming, and like an origin planet of a galactic invasion, revisiting it proved that it’s only increased in potency. If you’re lucky, you’ll find a few fun games like PAC-MAN 256 and Combo Quest, but even Pac-Man has a microtransaction model to it. I tried to Need For Speed: No Limits, and was quite quickly pestered to feed EA the money which they so desperately need to survive. All my other games from back in the day suffer from lack of continued support, and many of them aren’t even widescreen.

As I use my iPod for mostly music nowadays (as is its intended use), this isn’t a huge problem. As long as I have a few fun games to use when I don’t want to look like I’m awkwardly standing around waiting for someone, then there’s no real harm. It’s just sad to see such a good potential for a revival of quick, arcade gaming buried under the greed of corporations with an unending desire for more money.

Oh, and Apple, I don’t want to download iOS9 for my iPod 5. We both know that’ll slow it down and force me to buy an iPod 6. Stop asking me.

Leave a Reply

